Cemetery Information

The Mount Barker Cemetery was officially opened in the early 1850’s as a Wesleyan burial facility which served the residents of Mount Barker.  The Glebe burials ceased in 1865 when a Wesleyan burial register commenced. The cemetery then became a Methodist and Uniting burial ground until council took over the management of the cemetery in the early 1980’s.

This cemetery houses graves of early settlers which are considered to be of local historic significance due to the architecture of its graves and its use for tracing family genealogies. The first burial recorded in the ‘Wesleyan Glebe Land’ in 1856 being Eliza Dunn, the daughter of local pioneer John Dunn.

Mount Barker District Council has 10 cemeteries under their care and control. Council has records for each of these cemeteries, with burial records commencing from the date indicated: Bugle Ranges (1882), Echunga (1885), Harrogate (1865), Macclesfield (1884), Meadows (1916), Meadows Old Wesleyan (1866-1948 closed), Mount Barker (1856), Mount Ephraim (1863-1915 closed), Nairne (1864) and Wistow (1857). Due to deterioration of some records, details may have been obtained from various sources, eg tombstone. Where cemeteries were used prior to the Burial Register being kept these burials are included when known.

Please contact the Local History Centre on 8393 6400 for further information.


Cemetery Locations

The Mount Barker District Council maintains 10 of the cemeteries located in the council area. These include: Bugle Ranges, Echunga, Harrogate, Macclesfield, Meadows, Mount Barker, Mt Ephraim, Old Meadows, Nairne and Wistow.

> Mount Barker District Cemetery Locations (312kb) 


Cemetery Search 


To search a particular cemetery within the Mt Barker Council area, click on the down arrow next to ‘Cemetery’ and make your selection. In order to get the best result from your search please enter the Surname in the first instance. If you would like to refine your search further, enter Surname followed by a comma and the initial or Firstname, eg Surname, F. (Please note that if the burial register only contains an initial for the name, a search on the Firstname will return no result.)

Selecting ‘All (statewide)’ directs the search through participating Councils’ Grave registers across South Australia. You may also visit each Council’s website to refine your search to that Council’s local cemeteries. District Council of Mount Barker does not take responsibility for any information from other participating Councils’ websites.

A list of participating Councils as at June 2006 is provided below. For an up-to-date list of participating Councils please contact the Local Government Association of SA by email.




Le Hunte


Southern Mallee




Orroroo Carrieton

Streaky Bay

Barunga West

Franklin Harbour

Mid Murray


Tumby Bay

Berri and Barmera


Mt Barker

Port Augusta

Wattle Range



Murray Bridge

Port Pirie Regional




Naracoorte Lucindale



Cooper Coast


Northern Areas



6 Dutton Road, Mount Barker SA 5251
T 8391 7200